Collection Tony Herbert

After making the Roger and Hilda Matthys-Colle Collection publicly accessible in 2007 and the Wilfried & Yannicke Cooreman Collection in 2009, Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens presents the Tony Herbert Collection in the summer of 2011. The presentation and making publicly accessible of this collection fits in the policy of the museum Dhondt-Dhaenens concerning the investigation into the place and significance of committed private collectors in Belgium throughout the twentieth century.

Tony Herbert (1902-1959) probably compiled the most consistent collection of Flemish modernism. He mainly concentrated on the work of six artists: Jean Brusselmans, Gust De Smet, Constant Permeke, Edgard Tytgat, Frits Van den Berghe and Rik Wouters Tony Herbert was not only an avid collector of their masterpieces but also an influential promoter of their art.

The exhibition will bring the most important paintings, sculptures, drawings and archive material from the collection back together. Many works will be publicly exhibited for the first time in a long time.

Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens

Museumlaan 14
9831 Deurle


Tanguy Eeckhout