close

9th Biennial of Painting

Stories from the Ground

“Painting not only serves as a window into the world and the artists' minds but can also be contemplated from a shared perspective: the ground upon which every artist, every person, every being stands. This goes beyond a mere metaphor for the ecological challenges of our time; it acts as a universal denominator on a planetary scale.” — Curator Martin Germann

Shifting the focus from the horizon to the ground, Stories from the Ground brings together a selection of artists whose practices manifest the concept of “ground” in diverse ways: in literal terms like earth and the ground on which we lie, sit, stand, and walk; but also in the many ways artists engage with painting, as an age-old foundation that provides stability and support while constantly challenging existing ideas about art and mastery.

Departing from a selection of permanently installed works at MDD, this Biennial exhibition explores some unconventional artistic practices. In this context, painting consistently plays a distinctive yet ever-changing role: as a dim, long-abandoned path, a tool for opening new perspectives, a tradition to be dismantled, or as an open language to tell stories.

About the Biennial of Painting

In three exhibitions, Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens, Roger Raveel Museum and the Museum of Deinze and the Leie Region engage their historical collections with the works of contemporary artists. Through current perspectives, they aim to explore the art of painting over the past hundred years. The unique setting of the Leie Region plays a pivotal role in the background, inspiring generations of artists.

Reopening MDD

The ninth edition of the Biennial coincides with the reopening of Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens after a second renovation phase.

3
30.06.24—06.10.24
Exhibition
   Location
Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens

Museumlaan 14
9831 Deurle

   Curator

Martin Germann

   Image

Vija Celmins, Web Ladder (Set of 5) (detail), 2010 (detail).
Published by Simmelink Sukimoto Editions, Ventura, CA, USA.
Private collection Belgium.

close

9ᵉ Biennale de la Peinture

Stories from the ground

« La peinture se conçoit comme une fenêtre ouverte sur le monde et l’esprit des artistes, mais elle est aussi contemplée depuis une perspective commune à tous : le sol, sur lequel chaque artiste, chaque personne, chaque être se tient. Cela va au-delà d’une simple métaphore pour les défis écologiques de notre époque ; elle agit comme un dénominateur universel, à l’échelle de la planète. » — Martin Germann

En déplaçant le regard de l’horizon vers le sol, Stories from the Ground rassemble plusieurs artistes dont la pratique s’empare du concept de sol de diverses manières : de manière littérale, matérielle, au sens de la terre ou du sol où l’on s’allonge, s’assoit, se tient debout et sur lequel on marche ; mais aussi via les approches variées qu’ont les artistes de la peinture, institution ancienne qui offre de la stabilité mais qui remet aussi constamment en question toute idée préconçue sur l’art et la maîtrise.

À partir d’une sélection d’œuvres installées de manière permanente au Musée Dhondt-Dhaenens, cette exposition de la Biennale aborde plusieurs pratiques artistiques non conventionnelles. Au fil de cette exploration, la peinture assume à chaque fois un rôle distinctif mais en constante évolution : comme un chemin sombre abandonné depuis longtemps, un instrument permettant d’ouvrir de nouvelles perspectives, une tradition à démanteler ou un langage illimité pour raconter des histoires.

À propos de la Biennale de la Peinture

Le Musée Dhondt-Dhaenens, le Musée Roger Raveel, et le Musée de Deinze et du Pays de la Lys présentent conjointement la neuvième édition de la Biennale de Peinture. À travers trois expositions, la Biennale tisse des liens entre les collections historiques des trois musées et le travail d’artistes contemporains, afin d’interroger la peinture des cent dernières années à la lumière de perspectives actuelles. En filigrane, la situation particulière de la région de la Lys joue un rôle-clé en tant que source d’inspiration pour des générations d’artistes.

Réouverture du MDD

La neuvième édition de la Biennale coïncide avec la réouverture du Musée Dhondt-Dhaenens après une deuxième phase de rénovation.

3
30.06.24—06.10.24
Exposition
   Lieu
Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens

Museumlaan 14
9831 Deurle

   Curateur

Martin Germann

   Image

Vija Celmins, Web Ladder (Set of 5) (détail), 2010.
Publié par Simmelink Sukimoto Editions, Ventura, CA, USA.
Collection privée en Belgique.