close

Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens

Museumlaan 14
B-9831, Deurle

Opening hours

We–Su: 10:00–17:00

Closed on Mondays and Tuesdays, from 20 December 2021 to 4 January 2022 and during the dismantling and construction of exhibitions.

Safety measures COVID-19

From 20 November, mouth masks (from age 6) are mandatory for a visit to MDD. more info

Admission

€9

Individual

€7

60+, -26, teachers with pass, official guides, disabled persons, groups from 10 persons, vtbKultuur pas, UITpas, EYCA

€0

- 18, ICOM, Companion for disabled persons, MuseumPASSmusées, Open Monumenten-bon, MDD members

Guided tours

  • before 17:00: € 70, excl. admission
  • after 17:00: € 170, excl. admission
  • by curator or director: on request
  • max. 12 persons per guide
  • book your visit at least one week in advance

Reservations and info: publiek@museumdd.be
of +32 (0)9 330 17 39

Workshops for schools

  • on Tuesday and Wednesday afternoons
  • € 4 per pupil, excl. entrance ticket
  • max. 25 pupils per group

Reservations and info: publiek@museumdd.be
of +32 (0)9 330 17 39

Getting there

By bicycle

There are many pleasant bicycle routes in the direction of Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens. From Ghent it is about 18 km cycling to the museum, using the cycling network of Toerisme Leiestreek. Or plan your own route via Toerisme Oost-Vlaanderen.

By car

The museum is easily accessible by car and free parking is provided in front of the premises

By bus

Consult the route planner of De Lijn to get to MDD by public transport (nearest stop Deurle De Smetdreef).

In the area

Combine a visit to MDD with other museums in the area:

The laying of the foundation stone in 1967 marked the start of the construction of a unique and modernist building, situated between the meanders of the Lys on an adjacent plot of land next to the villa of Jules and Irma Dhondt-Dhaenens in Deurle. The elongated and simple volume was designed by architect Erik Van Biervliet (1938–1996) and is an early example of modernist architecture in Belgium after the Second World War. It was one of his first assignments as an independent architect and he continued to favour simplicity.

The brick volume of the patio hall has recessed and recessed walls and allowed the installation of narrow and gable-high windows for a unique and characteristic incidence of light. The crisp white building enters into an immediate dialogue with its wooded and ever-changing surroundings without being intrusive. The interior is open and the various rooms flow into each other, receiving natural light from the different domes in the ceiling.

A long-planned extension did not materialise in the end, and in 2020 MDD began a thorough renovation to fully restore its architectural character. The first phase, which addressed the roof and floors, is now complete.

close

Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens

Museumlaan 14
B-9831, Deurle
+32 (0)9 330 17 30

Heures d’ouverture

mar–dim: 10h00–17h00

Prix d’entrée*

€15

Individuel

€ 12

60+, Groupes de 10 personnes ou plus, enseignants

€ 8

moins de 26 ans, étudiants, personnes handicapées

€ 0

MuseumPASSmusées, moins de 12 ans, accompagnateurs de personnes handicapées, ICOM, presse, groupe groupe scolaire, membres du MDD, participants THE FLOOR IS YOURS

*ticket combiné pendant La Biennale de la Peinture (26.06–02.10.22) pour le mudel et Musée Roger Raveel.

Visites guidées
la Biennale de la Peinture

  • 1 musée : € 80 / 2 musées : € 120 / 3 musées : € 150
  • min. 10, max. 25 personnes
  • réservez votre visite au moins deux semaines à l’avance
  • Hors billets d'entrée
  • Réservations et infos

Des ateliers pour les classes

Accessibilité

Modification de l'accessibilité

Des travaux routiers sont actuellement en cours à proximité du musée. Vous pouvez trouver plus d'informations sur la situation actuelle ici.

En vélo

Il existe de nombreuses pistes cyclables agréables en direction du Musée Dhondt-Dhaenens. Depuis Gand, le musée est à environ 18 km en vélo, en le réseau de point-nœuds de vélo. Consultez l’itinéraire cycliste du Leiestreek de Toerisme Leiestreek ou planifiez votre propre itinéraire via Toerisme Oost-Vlaanderen.

En voiture

Le musée est facilement accessible en voiture. Un parking gratuit est disponible à l’avant du site.

En bus

Consultez le planificateur d’itinéraire de De Lijn pour vous rendre au MDD en transport public (arrêt le plus proche Deurle De Smetdreef). En raison de travaux, le service de bus actuel a été modifié.

Dans le voisinage

Combinez une visite au MDD avec d’autres musées de la région :

La pose de la première pierre en 1967 marque le début de la construction d’un bâtiment unique et moderniste, situé entre les méandres de la Lys sur un terrain adjacent à la villa de Jules et Irma Dhondt-Dhaenens à Deurle. Le volume allongé et simple a été conçu par l’architecte Erik Van Biervliet (1938–1996) et constitue un exemple précoce de l’architecture moderniste en Belgique après la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Il s’agit de l’une de ses premières missions en tant qu’architecte indépendant et il continue à privilégier la simplicité.

Le volume en briques de la salle du patio présente des murs en retrait et en creux et a permis l’installation de fenêtres étroites et à hauteur de pignon pour une incidence unique et caractéristique de la lumière. Le bâtiment d’un blanc éclatant entre en dialogue immédiat avec son environnement boisé et changeant, sans pour autant être intrusif. L’intérieur est ouvert et les différentes pièces s’enchaînent, recevant la lumière naturelle des différents dômes du plafond.

Une extension prévue de longue date ne s'est finalement pas concrétisée, et en 2020, le MDD a entamé une rénovation en profondeur pour lui redonner pleinement son caractère architectural. La première phase, qui concernait le toit et les sols, est maintenant terminée.