close

Woning Van Wassenhove

Opening hours

Individual visits are only possible on specific visiting days.
Subscribe to our newsletter to stay informed.

Guided tours for groups

  • groups of max 12 people
  • book your visit at least three weeks in advance
  • price:
    • € 300 groups
    • € 240 for educational institutions
  • Reservations and info

Woning Van Wassenhove is not accessible without an appointment and is private property.

Woning Van Wassenhove
Woning Van Wassenhove, 1974. ©Juliaan Lampens

Woning Van Wassenhove was designed by architect Juliaan Lampens and built between 1972 and 1974. Bachelor Albert Van Wassenhove, a teacher with a passion for contemporary art and architecture commissioned the house. Lampens designed a house of concrete, wood and glass in which all living areas overlap as one open space. The warmth of the wood and the ever-changing play of incident light shatter the massiveness of the concrete. Basic geometric shapes structure the interior: the sleeping area is a circle, the kitchen is a triangle and the office space is a square. But the house is more than just a game of shapes and lines as it manages to redefine our experience of living.

After the death of Albert Van Wassenhove in 2012, the house was bequeathed to the University of Ghent, who in turn gave it on a long-term loan to Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens in Deurle. MDD activates the house through visits, exhibitions and residencies for artists.

The house was renovated in 2015 thanks to the support of Philippe and Miene Gillion. In September 2017 the House Van Wassenhove was officially registered as a monument. The house is part of the international Iconic Houses Network.

close

Woning Van Wassenhove

Heures d’ouverture

Visites individuelles uniquement pendant les jours de visite.
Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter pour être informé.

Visites guidées pour les groupes

  • groupes jusqu’à 12 personnes
  • réservez votre visite au moins trois semaines à l’avance
  • prix:
    • € 300
    • € 240 pour les institutions éducatives
  • Réservations et infos

La résidence n’est pas accessible sans rendez-vous et est une propriété privée.

Woning Van Wassenhove
Woning Van Wassenhove, 1974. ©Juliaan Lampens

Woning Van Wassenhove fut conçue et construite par l’architecte Juliaan Lampens entre 1972 et 1974. Le maître d’ouvrage était Albert Van Wassenhove, un professeur célibataire passionné d’art moderne et d’architecture. Lampens lui a construit un bâtiment de béton, de bois et de verre, dans lequel les espaces de vie se confondent : pas de pièces, mais un seul espace ouvert. La massivité du béton est adoucie par la chaleur du bois et le jeu toujours changeant de la lumière entrante. Des formes géométriques simples structurent l’intérieur : l’espace de repos décrit un cercle, la cuisine un triangle et le bureau un carré. Plutôt que se limiter à un jeu de lignes et de formes, cette maison parvient à redéfinir notre expérience de l’habitat.

Après le décès d'Albert Van Wassenhove en 2012, la maison a été léguée à l'université de Gand, qui l'a à son tour prêtée à long terme au MDD. Le musée anime la maison par des visites, des expositions et des résidences d'artistes.

La maison a été rénovée en 2015 grâce au mécénat de Philippe et Miene Gillion. En septembre 2017, la maison a été officiellement enregistrée comme monument. La maison fait partie du Iconic Houses Network.