close

Karina Beumer
FABA Residency

Karina Beumer (°1988) holds an interactive artistic practice which stays alive by being in conversation with — or being captivated by — something or someone else. This results in videos, installations and publications that emerge from drawings of observations and unannounced performances. Beumer searches for an absurd and surreal relationship between the inside of the head (thoughts, miscommunication) and the physical world (language, networks). In a dream-like universe, she connects banal issues with personal fantasies using strategies of existing structures such as pop songs, blockbusters and live-action role-playing.

Beumer used the residency, on the one hand, to produce the film (...), an absurd, non-linear and playful video diary that tells the story of (and by) Ron, who has been living with a Non-congenital Brain Injury for 5 years, causing him to get lost and forget. Ron has recorded his life in diaries and he is now writing a book about living with NAH. 

On the other hand, Beumer completed the long-running project Dagboek van een vervanger, a complementary project to the publication Terms of Conditions in which the artist posted a vacancy in early September 2020 offering her own artistry as a job (and substitute). Annelein Pompe responded to the vacancy and in Dagboek van een vervanger, she gives an hour-by-hour account of this period.

This residency was supported by the Spanish foundation Fundación Almine y Bernard Ruiz-Picasso Para el Arte.

The FABA Artist Residency, supported by the Spanish foundation Fundación Almine y Bernard Ruiz-Picasso Para el Arte, offered an artist working in the visual arts time and space to reflect and the chance to further develop their practice. From 153 applications, the jury chose Antwerp-based artist Karina Beumer.

Jury

Catherine de Zegher (independent curator), Caroline Dumalin (AAIR, Antwerp), Gwenvael Launay (FABA), Laurens Otto (curator, Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens) and Danielle van Zuijlen (Kunsthal Gent)

9
29.09.21—30.10.21
Residence
   Location
Woning van Wassenhove

Brakelstraat 50
B-9830 Sint-Martens-Latem

   Artist
   Image

Karina Beumer, Woning Van Wassenhove, 2022.

   Thanks to

close

Karina Beumer
FABA Residency

Karina Beumer (°1988) a une pratique artistique interactive qui reste vivante par le biais de conversations avec — ou en étant captivée par — quelque chose ou quelqu’un. Cela se traduit par des vidéos, des installations et des publications qui émergent de dessins d’observations et de performances imprévues. Beumer recherche une relation absurde et surréaliste entre l’intérieur de la tête (pensées, communication défectueuse) et le monde physique (langage, réseaux). Dans un univers onirique, elle relie des questions banales à des fantasmes personnels en utilisant des stratégies de structures existantes telles que les chansons pop, les blockbusters et les jeux de rôles grandeur nature.

Beumer a utilisé la résidence, d’une part, pour concrétiser le film (...), un journal vidéo absurde, non linéaire et ludique qui raconte l’histoire de (et par) Ron, qui vit depuis 5 ans avec une lésion cérébrale non congénitale, ce qui fait qu’il se perd et oublie. Ron a consigné sa vie dans des journaux intimes et il écrit actuellement un livre sur la vie avec une lésion cérébrale non congénitale. 



D’autre part, Beumer a terminé le projet de longue haleine Dagboek van een vervanger, un projet complémentaire à la publication Terms of Conditions, dans lequel l’artiste a publié une offre d’emploi début septembre 2020, proposant son propre art comme emploi (et substitut). Annelein Pompe a répondu à l’offre d’emploi et dans Dagboek van een vervanger, elle fait un récit heure par heure de cette période.



Cette résidence a été soutenue par la fondation espagnole Fundación Almine y Bernard Ruiz-Picasso Para el Arte.La résidence d’artiste FABA, soutenue par la fondation espagnole Fundación Almine y Bernard Ruiz-Picasso Para el Arte, offrait à un artiste travaillant dans le domaine des arts visuels un temps et un espace de réflexion et la possibilité de développer sa pratique. Parmi 153 candidatures, le jury a choisi l’artiste anversoise Karina Beumer.

Jury

Catherine de Zegher (curatrice indépendante), Caroline Dumalin (AAIR, Anvers), Gwenvael Launay (FABA), Laurens Otto (curateur, MDD) et Danielle van Zuijlen (Kunsthal Gent).

9
29.09.21—30.10.21
Residence
   Lieu
Woning van Wassenhove

Brakelstraat 50
B-9830 Sint-Martens-Latem

   Artiste
   Image

Karina Beumer, Woning Van Wassenhove, 2022.

   Merci à