close

Het Erf

MDD puts its own historical heritage at the centre of its first exhibition in 2023.

Het Erf explores the collection of Irma and Jules Dhondt-Dhaenens, for which they had their own museum built in Deurle in 1967. Now, 56 years later, Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens is studying the origins of its own existence through a selection of historical artworks and never-before-shown archival material. The exhibition is the result of an intensive search for personal stories about the collection and its founders.

MDD‘s collection is a time capsule that tells the story of a committed patron couple dedicated to promoting the ‘Flemish culture’. Irma and Jules Dhondt-Dhaenens bought art out of a strong commitment to the artists and the Leie region, as evidenced by some radical choices. In their pioneering role, the couple was an important source of inspiration for other private collections in Flanders.

Het Erf reflects on the personal nature but responds also to the artistic and political climate in which the collection was created and aims to enable new dialogues between the artworks with a fresh perspective.

3
12.03.23—21.05.23
Exhibition
   Location
Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens

Museumlaan 14
B-9831 Deurle

   Image

Irma and Jules pose at Villa Zodenhof next to a sculpture by Geo Verbanck and the work Salon bij Georges Giroux by Rik Wouters. The photo was taken in honour of their 55 years of marriage in 1968.

   Advised by

Dirk Snauwaert
Luc Tuymans

close

Het Erf

Le MDD met son propre patrimoine historique au centre de sa première exposition en 2023.

Het Erf regarde la collection d’Irma et Jules Dhondt-Dhaenens, pour laquelle ils ont fait construit leur propre musée à Deurle en 1967. Après 56 ans, le Musée Dhondt-Dhaenens revient sur les origines de son existence à travers une sélection d’œuvres d’art historiques et ses propres archives. L’exposition est le résultat d’une recherche intensive d’histoires personnelles sur la collection et ses fondateurs.

La collection du MDD est une capsule temporelle qui raconte l’histoire d’un couple de mécènes dévoués à la promotion de la « culture flamande ». Irma et Jules Dhondt-Dhaenens ont acheté des œuvres d’art en raison d’un engagement fort envers les artistes et la région de la Lys, comme en témoignent certains choix radicaux. Dans son rôle de pionnier, le couple a été une source d’inspiration importante pour d’autres collections privées en Flandre.

L’exposition répond à la nature personnelle mais aussi le climat artistique et politique dans laquelle la collection a été créée et vise principalement à permettre de nouveaux dialogues entre les œuvres d’art avec une perspective nouvelle.

3
12.03.23—21.05.23
Exposition
   Lieu
Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens

Museumlaan 14
B-9831 Deurle

   Image

Irma et Jules posent à la Villa Zodenhof près d‘une sculpture de Geo Verbanck et de l’œuvre Salon de Georges Giroux de Rik Wouters. La photo a été prise en l’honneur de leurs 55 ans de mariage en 1968.

   Conseillée par

Dirk Snauwaert
Luc Tuymans